Picture perfect! Edinburgh College students snap up national photography awards

Edinburgh College Photography students and alumni captured the imagination of the judges at the country’s top competition for young photographers, winning 18 awards in total.

The annual British Institute of Photography (BIPP) Scottish Region Awards saw 13 students and alumni recognised across areas of photography including photojournalism, advertising, fashion and social and portraiture.

Marta Drozdz, a BA student at the college’s Sighthill Campus, won the big prize of Student Photographer of the Year for a portfolio of work put together throughout her time at the college. She also won the Gold and Bronze Awards in the Fashion category.

This is the ninth year in a row that Edinburgh College students have returned from the competition with multiple awards. This year’s prize haul included four gold first-places, three silver second-places, five bronze third-places and six merits with HND1, HND2 and BA students all picking awards.

The awards took place in Glasgow and were judged by BIPP fellows Bryn Griffiths and Sean Conboy.

Marta said: “It is the highest accolade a photography student could ever hope to achieve so it’s an incredible honour. There are so many talented photographers on my course alone never mind the rest of Scotland.

“It was my first time at an award ceremony so I was a bit nervous about being among so many great photographers. When I found out that I had won twice in the Student Fashion category I was ecstatic. Then when I found out that I had Student of the Year, I cried. It was a lot to process.”

Edinburgh College Photography lecturer Jon Lee said: “This was a brilliant night for our students, who thoroughly deserved their success. We’ve done very well in the BIPP Awards over the last few years and our current crop of students are showing again what talent we have here and how they’re being prepared well for careers in photography.”

Edinburgh College winners:

Student Photographer of the Year

Marta Drozdz (BA)

Social & Portraiture Category

Gold Award – Kate Soltan (HND2)

Silver Award – Gavin Smart (HND2)

Bronze Award – Alejandro Basterrechea (BA)

Merit – Emanuele Centi (HND1)

Merit – Gabriela Pieniazek (BA)

Merit – Rowan Macmillan (HND1)

Photojournalism Category

Silver – Audrey Peddie (BA)

Bronze – Carmel Pia (BA)

Merit – Carmel Pia (BA)

Advertising Category

Gold Award – Erik Strakota (BA)

Bronze Award – Erik Strakota (BA)

Merit – Helena Blackwood (BA)

Fashion Category

Gold Award – Marta Drozdz (BA)

Silver Award – Gavin Smart (HND2)

Bronze Award – Marta Drozdz (BA)

Merit – Diana Sosnowska (HND2)

Open Category

Gold Award – Hector Fernandez (HND2)

Bronze Award – Gavin Smart (HND2)