Prize Giving 2019 – Super students recognised at Edinburgh College’s annual award ceremony

More than 100 students gathered with around 400 family, friends, staff and guests to celebrate their outstanding work over the last year at the College’s annual Prize Giving ceremony last week, Friday 7 June.

The event honoured further education students across the whole curriculum for their achievements over the year. Students received awards from the College’s four faculties – Creative Industries; Engineering and Built Environment; Health, Wellbeing and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality and Business.

This year’s ceremony, the College’s biggest yet, saw prizes awarded to its outstanding FE students as well as Schools College Partnership students. For the first time this year, School pupils from Ross High School were awarded the title of SCP Events and Hospitality School of the Year, whilst Castlebrae Community High School were presented with the SCP Excellence Award in Hospitality.

Prize Giving celebrates the academic achievements and dedication of students, as well as the commitment many have to juggling home life and work to succeed in their studies. The prizes included Recognition Awards, awarded to those who have gone that extra mile to succeed, Academic Excellence Awards and each curriculum area’s Student of the Year award.

Forth One daytime presenter Micky Gavin was the compere for the evening at the Hub in the College’s Granton Campus.

College partners including businesses and local politicians joined the celebrations, with some sponsoring awards. Awards sponsors included former Edinburgh College student and Guardians of the Galaxy and Dr Who actress Karen Gillan, hairdresser to the Royals Denise McAdam, Scottish arts patron Richard Demarco, restaurateur and hotelier James Thomson OBE and the Edinburgh College Development Trust among others.

Edinburgh College Principal Audrey Cumberford said: “Prize Giving is the perfect opportunity to recognise the exceptional talents of our students. Each of our winners was nominated for their outstanding approach to learning and we were thrilled to be able to celebrate their success with their family and friends. Whatever the award winners choose to do next, whether that be continuing their studies, or gaining employment, I’m confident they will thrive and I wish them all the best for the future.”

We wish all prize winners good luck in the next step of their journey.