Following the cyber attacks that started affecting businesses across the world last week, please keep an eye out for suspicious emails.
Malicious emails are often disguised as an email from a familiar company such as a bank or from a friend. If you receive anything that even slightly rings an alarm bell, please delete it. Holding the Shift key while you delete it will remove it permanently instead of moving it to your Deleted Items folder.
Things to look out for include:
- Emails asking you to provide a username
- Emails that appear to be from someone you know but only have a brief message such as ‘check out this cool website!’ followed by a link.
- Emails about deactivating or reactivating your email account e.g. ‘IT REMINDER: Your account will be deactivated in less than 24 hours’
Thanks for your support in protecting our systems.
Edinburgh College IT team